What’s Your Weakness?

I am a newsletter sign-up junkie.  There, I’ve said it.  I sign up for any newsletter I come across that sounds interesting: dance companies, schools, techy, photography, inspirational, you name it.

And then of course I do like everyone else and toss them in the trash because they clog up my inbox.  Ok, well there are a few that I almost always open, Pilobolus for example, has a great blog/newsletter that is almost always interesting (and I happen to be a huge fan of their work).

This morning I opened a newsletter and the message  hit me in a way that I got up (figuratively, I was still slumped at my machine) and started texting people… it said:

Only you know the reality of what your biggest weakness is. Start this week by facing it; deciding how to beat it and then taking the actions necessary to overcome it. You can overcome any shortcoming if you take the right action!

Hummm… well, as most things like this, you could become excited one minute and the next get on with your day completely forgetting the message and motivation intention.  Or… today could be one of those days you could act.  Why not, I said to myself?  And if today I did and tomorrow the next person I told about it did, and we passed it on.. this newsletter could have actually made a difference in some of our lives!

Ok, so as an artist, mom, wife, and business owner I came up with a list of things, but here we  were just asked for the reality of our ‘biggest weakness’.  And to be totally authentic here, none of the things on my list did I/do I really want to take on.

But for the sake of experiment, here I go. I picked Money.  I dislike talking about it with clients, it’s not my comfort area, and though I need to pay my overhead and bills, I don’t do what I do because of the money.  I love to shoot and I love to help people.

But frequently I leave the transaction of my jobs until the very end, which often causes me to have large amounts of outstanding fees and very poor cash flow for my business and sometimes family.  How to beat this will be to discuss money with my clients early on in every consultation and to take deposits for jobs.  Sounds so simple, as I type it here, now let’s see what happens as I begin to implement!

What would happen in your life/career if you tackled big weaknesses?  I think back to being a dancer, I’m not sure I ever had a conversation with a teacher/director/mentor about what my biggest weakness was and then put a plan in place to tackle it.  If I had, what difference could that have made?  What difference could it make for you?

I would like to challenge you this week to do just that.  Have a conversation.  Pick a weakness.  Put a plan in place.

Email me- or post in the comments below- what you come up with and how it affects you.

What if we all did this 4 times a year?  I can’t wait to hear from you!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I’m right there with you, Rachel. Why is money the hardest topic to broach?

    Shouldn’t we be as proud of earning money doing what we love as we are proud of providing great services to our clients?

Leave a Reply

